Record the name of the country of production in the language and script of the archive whenever possible.  Choose the form of the country name in use at the time that the moving image work was produced.  Do not use abbreviations.

245 00 $a Elvira Madigan / $c Europa Film, Janco Films.

257 ## $a Sweden.

(For English language archives.)

The following choices of country names in English are derived from the Special Decisions section of the Library of Congress Rule Interpretation 23.2 for AACR2, 23.2.

1.  Germany.  For the Federal Republic of Germany, use "West Germany" for 1949-1990 and "Germany" after 1990.  For the German Democratic Republic, use "East Germany."

2.  Great Britain.  For the United Kingdom, use "Great Britain."

3.  Korea.  For Korea until September 1945, use "Korea."  After September 1945, use "North Korea" or "South Korea."

4.  Soviet Union.  For the former Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, use "Soviet Union" for 1917-1991.  Prior to 1917, use "Russia."  After 1991, use the country names of the former republics that constituted the Soviet Union (i.e., Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan).

See also:

3C.  Country of production

3.  Country of Production Area