Israel, Jordan, Syria:

Do not add the name of the country to places that prior to 1967 were in Jordan or Syria and that are currently within the administered territories of Israel.

For Jerusalem, use "Jerusalem."

South Africa:

Add the qualifier "(South Africa)" to the headings for the South African homelands and to jurisdictions within the homelands. Apply this both to the homelands that South Africa has converted to sovereign nations (e.g., Bophuthatswana) and to those that are currently called self-governing territories within South Africa (e.g., Gazankulu).

See also:

23.4. Additions